The United States of WTF? – Part Two

I’m going to start this post by letting you know, dear reader, that I have no problem with either medicinal or recreational marijuana. When my father was dying from cancer, marijuana helped ease his suffering. If someone comes home from a hard day at work, I have no problem with them sitting back and lighting up a joint (or blunt, bong, or bowl). To me, it’s no different from relaxing with a beer and watching TV. I personally can’t partake due to nasty reactions (vomiting, migraine, breathing issues, and YES I found out the hard way…), but I also can’t drink beer due to the same reactions. Despite that, I’m not going to take the fun away from others. We’re adults, here. It’s not my place. This is also going to be short(ish), as it’s not something that’s always on my mind. It’s more of an annoyance.

My issue is not with the recreational smoker. It’s not even with the daily smoker that still takes care of their responsibilities and contributes to society. I’m sure that most of you have seen the person I’m talking about. They’re the ones constantly wearing pot leaf clothing and jewelry. They’re on Facebook and Whisper asking if anyone knows where the good bud is. They post pictures of themselves daily with bloodshot, half-closed eyes and the caption, “BAKED!” They refuse to get a job (likely because of drug testing), but insist that they’re independent artists and musicians; just as they’ve been for the past twenty years, and with just as much to show for it – nothing.

Get a clue. Get a LIFE.

Recreational marijuana became legal in my state in 2012. When the petitions first came out, I happily signed them. When the polls opened, I voted for it. I thought it was ridiculous that alcohol, tobacco, and firearms are perfectly legal; yet, something as (mostly) harmless as marijuana wasn’t. I still do. I also realized that there would be less arrests, and that the sale of marijuana could help the state economy. These views haven’t changed.

Unfortunately, there are some who turn recreational smoking into a complete lifestyle. It’s not always a case of stupidity, either. I’ve seen people write and draw amazing things; but, they’re too focused on getting high to ever do anything with any of it. I watched a guy give an explanation of String Theory that could put anything ever written on Wikipedia to shame… yet, he lived in his mother’s spare bedroom. He didn’t want to go to school and further himself. He just wanted to get baked. It was actually really sad.

Getting high should be a recreational activity, not a life goal. I’ve seen people criticize alcoholics, despite the fact that they can’t remember the last day that they didn’t smoke marijuana. I really don’t think that they have that right. Don’t criticize someone who isn’t sober if you’re never sober. That’s called hypocrisy. And yes, I get it. Getting high is something that’s fun for most people. I used to be one of them, once upon a time. However; if you are broke, carless, jobless, a step from homeless, and still smoking up… I think it’s time for you to reevaluate your life choices. There’s more to life than getting wasted. Posting “BAKED!1!” daily shows the world that you don’t understand the meaning of the word “responsible”. It shows that there’s not much to your life, outside of weed. Your personality has gone up in smoke.

It wouldn’t be so bad if this was just one person every now and then. Unfortunately, it’s not. There actually are people who will not be friends with someone who doesn’t smoke pot. They won’t go places that don’t allow pot. They refuse to get jobs that drug test; then, blame the employers for not allowing them to smoke marijuana. They are perfectly happy doing nothing but smoking up all day and watching television or playing video games; then, in the rare moment of semi-clarity, wonder why they aren’t going further in life. These people are getting more and more common. Even in drug-free workplaces; I’ve heard complaints about the policies from people who either stayed sober long enough to pass a drug test, or those who just wish to start smoking pot. I’ve even watched employees run to their cars and smoke so much weed during their lunch that you couldn’t even see inside their vehicle. I’m sorry, but I have to agree with the employers. If you are responsible for large financial transactions or the operation of machinery, you have no business coming in to work while intoxicated. No drug is that important; not even weed.

Go ahead. Smoke up after work. Just, please; remember that there is more to life than getting high. Much more.

Leave a Reply

